The Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) is one of a sequence of four NSF programs which seek to build productive capacity and output within institutions with significant enrollments of minority populations underrepresented within science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) professionals.

The other three NSF programs are AGEP (Alliances for Graduate Education and Professoriate), (CREST) Centers for Research Excellence in Science and Technology, and HBCU-UP (Historically Black Colleges and Universities Undergraduate Program).

The Peach State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participations (PSLSAMP) is an alliance of 5 institutions, with Savannah State University working in close collaboration with Fort Valley State University, Georgia Perimeter College, Southern Polytechnic State University, and University of Georgia (Lead Institution).

Savannah State University offers 4-year BS degree programs (with majors in Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Marine Science, Mathematics, Civil Engineering Technology, Computer Science Technology and Electronics Engineering Technology), Georgia Tech Regional Engineering Program (GTREP), Regents Engineering Transfer Program (RETP), and Dual Degree Program. The SSU offers also the Master of Science degree program in Marine Science.

The ultimate goal of PLSAMP's efforts is to increase the number of minorities contributing to advancing the frontiers of research and education in STEM fields.