Kennedy Fine Arts Building

Pictured: The Class of 1900
Front row, left to right: M. L. Whitmire, R.R. Wright (President), O. C. Suggs, (Vice President), E. W. Bisard Back row, left to right: J.W.G. Haigler, F.A. Fields (Class Vice President), E. W. Houstoun (Class President), S. A. Grant (Class Secretary), E. McIntosh (Class Treasurer), E. A. Overstreet
Photo Source: Savannah State University Archives, Asa H Gordon Library

Founders Day

Thursday, November 8, 2018

Each year Savannah State University takes a day to recognize those who have served the school and made its foundation stronger.

The annual observance celebrates the history of the institution and those who have contributed to its success. The ceremony includes a guest speaker and the presentation of awards to members of the community.

This event is free and open to the public.



Award Nomination

Savannah State University honors the legacy of our founders with two awards the Richard R. Wright Award of Excellence and the Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award.

Richard R. Wright Award of Excellence

This award honors corporate and community citizens, alumni, and outstanding leaders who have distinguished themselves through their expertise in social, educational and civic arenas.

Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award

Purpose: Recognizes outstanding alumni who have shown extraordinary support and loyalty to the Savannah State University, and who have become exemplary examples of the lofty ideals espoused by the university. The award also extols the achievements and contributions such distinguished alumni have made nationally, regionally and locally.

Please click on the link below to nominate individuals for these two awards.