

Faculty Senate Minutes September 1, 2020, WebEx, 4pm.

Senators Present: M. Adams, K. Aites, G. Bowden, N. Cannonier, E. Clark, C. Creekmur, C. Curran, C. Davis, J. Dominy, D. Ebanks, R. Franklin, K. Jayaraman, T. R. Johnson, K. Jordan, I. Korovyakovskaya, B. Kowasha, S. Loomis, L. Merchan-Alverez, D. Michael, A. Moore, P. Morgan, S. Mullgrav, E. Nojang, P. Omunga, M. Prasad, P. Rivera, C. Samms-Brown, T. Shakespeare, D. Simmonds, P. Sivapatham, I. Tedrick, W. Tekalign, K. Walker

Ex-Officio: K. Ballard-Washington, S. Matthews, S. McFall, S. Mujumdar, S. Mullgrav, M. Mustafa, A. Ogletree-McDougal, C. Thompson, D. Townsend

Visitors: S. Butler-Lamar, A. Chowdhury, M. Cox, D. Davis, M. Davis, J. Halpin, M. Hayder, O. Iancu, N. Linden, D. Lonon, K. Marriott, F. Mendelson, Is. Mosch, P. Ogden, Z. Qin, M. Seidman, S. Serdikoff, M. Smith, K. Stewart, J. Trammel, G. Wang, P. White, A. Yousuf

I. Meeting Called to Order (Aites) – 4:05pm

II. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve: P. Morgan		Second: A. Mudrinich
Aye: 21	Nay:	Abstain:

III. Approval of Minutes

Amendment to August 18, 2020 Minutes – add I. Tedrick as presentMotion to approve with amendment: I. KorovyakovskayaSecond: P. OmungaAye: 21Nay: 0Abstain:

May 5, 2020 MinutesMotion to approve: P. OmungaSecond: I. KorovyakovskayaAye: 21Nay: 0Abstain:

May 29, 2020 Minutes Motion to approve: I. Korovyakovskaya Second: P. Omunga Aye: 25 Nay: 0 Abstain: 2

IV. Installation of new SenatorsK. Jayaraman and C. Samms-Brown were sworn in

- V. President's Report
 - Protocol for COVID-19 Reporting emailed and on SSU Website
 - Announcements about number of positive COVID-19 cases, where and how to obtain personal protective equipment (PPE)
 - Enrollment: ~3,400 students
 - Leadership Appointments S. McFall (Provost and VPAA), S. Mujumdar (Interim AVPAA), S. Mullgrav (Interim COBA Dean and Faculty Athletic Representative)
 - SACSCOC Report complete
 - SGA seeking polling location on campus from Board of Electors
 - Professional Accomplishments: Publication: Doctoral student from University of West Indies in High Impact Journal of Chemosphere (Impact Factor ~ 6.0) Paramasivam Sivapatham, Ph.D. (Associate Professor, SSU, mentor) and Mulatu Lemma, Ph.D., a mathematics professor at Savannah State University (SSU), is among 12 recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM).
- VI. Parliamentarian Report
 - Discussion of Article 2 Section 2 Subsection 3 (pg. 96 of 2019 Faculty Handbook) removal/replacement of senators. The interpretation from Senator Mudrinich is that senators may be removed but only replaced by swearing in new senator to finish the term at the last meeting of academic year
 - Action Item: Pass the discussion of Article 2 Section 1 Subsection A to handbook committee to discuss administrators serving as senators, when swearing-in of senators occurs in the academic year (once or on-going)
- VII. Old Business

A. Action Items from previous senate meeting

VIII. New Business

A. Committee on Committees Report (Adams)

working on populating committees. Estimated completion date October meeting.

IX. Announcements

A. 2020-2021 Faculty-Staff Campaign (O. Iancu)

Irina Tedrick (Faculty Representative), Marius Davis (Staff Representative). Please support. Proceeds support SSU students

B. Faculty Affairs Committee

Move to accept the members of the Faculty Affairs Committee: J. DominySecond: A. AndersonAye: 28Nay: 0Abstain: 1

X. Adjournment

Moved: P. Omunga Second: C. Curran Meeting Adjourned at 5:27pm

Submitted by Andrea L. Moore, Recording Secretary