

Senators Present: K. Aites, M. Adams, A. Anderson, G. Bowden, N. Cannonier, A. Chowdhury, E. Clark, C. Creekmur, C. Curran, C. Davis, J. Dominy, D. Ebanks, R. Franklin, K. Jayaraman, T. R. Johnson, K. Jordan, S. Kim, I. Korovyakovskaya, B. Kawasha, D. Michael, A. Moore, P. Morgan, A. Mudrinich, P. Omunga, M. Prasad, P. Rivera, C. Samms-Brown, T. Shakespeare, D. Simmonds, I. Tedrick, W. Tekalign

**New Senators Installed**: K. Aites, V. Brown, S. Butler-Lamar, L. Cole, C. Faries, A. Moore, A. Mudrinich, S. Serdikoff, H. Farhangi, H. Tavossi, C. Torrence

**Ex-Officio:** K. Ballard-Washington, S. Mujumdar, S. McFall, M. Mustafa, S. Mullgrav, A. Ogletree-McDougal C. Thompson, D. Townsend. J. Lambright

Visitors: D. Cake, M. Cox, C. Gayle, O. Iancu, Y. Jahmani, M. Hader, I. Mosch, J. Trammell, P. Ogden, P. White, S. Lamar, K. Marriott, J. West, N. Linden, M. Moaveni, L. Yount

I. Call to Order (Aites) – 4:05pm

II. Approval of Agenda
Move Installation of New Officers above President's Report
Motion to approve amended agenda: J. Dominy Second: P. Omunga
Approved by vote in chat

III. Approval of MinutesMotion to approve minutes: A. Mudrinich second: N. CannonierApproved by vote in chat

IV. Installation of Officers

Senators accepted oath via link provided to Office365 Form in <u>facultysenate@savannahstate.edu</u> account. Those listed above were installed and accepted the oath. The individuals below have been named by their colleges:

CLASS Chad Faries Tieniu Cheng Sherrie Loomis (finish P. Blood term) Vicki Brown Lakesha Cole Sherry Serdikoff

COE Kisha Aites COBA Shetia Butler-Lamar Hadi Farhangi Andrew Mudrinich Christopher Torrance

COST Wondimu Tekalign Tilahun Muche Kenneth Sajwan Hasson Tavossi Param Sivapatham

Library Patrick Morgan

V. President's Report (Ballard-Washington)

- Kudos: Completed SACSCOC reaffirmation (March 23-25), Student Success United to improve retention, QEP, COBA Awesome Sauce Entrepreneurship, COST grants, food desert initiatives, Graduation, New President will be named to start in fall semester
- Student Evaluation Instrument: K. Ballard-Washington, J. Dominy, L. Yount and S. McFall will meet regarding student evaluations use with faculty instrument.
- Regarding whether the May 2020 Instrument was approved according to Senate By-Laws, the USG ruled that the process was followed accurately as no part of the by-laws were being amended.
- Faculty Handbook Revisions 1.8.2.3 and 2.20 are approved for Faculty Handbook Revisions approved.
- V. Academic Affairs Report (McFall)

Kudos, Report on use of Student Contact Hours instrument from Academic Affairs Taskforce

- Request for overload compensation will be submitted in spring
- Motion to table any approval or revision of instrument until more data can be collected and analyzed: J. Dominy Second: S. Serdikoff Aye: 28 Nay: 0 Abstain: 1

VI. Update on Presidential Search (Aites)

Four candidates interviewed via video conferencing during the first week of April and forwarded to Regents Special Committee for consideration.

VII. Update on CLASS Dean Search (Mustafa)

End of May 19, candidates will be forwarded to Academic Affairs for review.

- VIII. New Business
- A. NPCC elections

The following were recommended by Committee on Committees:

Sudesh Mujumdar, Chairperson	AVPAA	
Cora Thompson, Interim	Dean, COE	
Teresa-Michelle Walker, Associate	Dean, CLASS	
Shalonda Mullgrav, Interim	Dean, COBA	
Mohamad Mustafa	Dean, COST	
Chavanese Samms-Brown	СОВА	2021-2023
David Simmonds	СОВА	2020-2022
Kisha Aites	COE	2020-2022
Christina Davis	CLASS	2021-2023
Peter Mundey	CLASS	2021-2023
Wondimu Tekalign	COST	2021-2023
Sujin Kim	COST	2021-2023
Lisa Yount	Core	
Patrick Morgan/Jennifer West, Non-voting	Library	
Ed Hood, Non-Voting	Grad Studies	
Danita Townsend, Non-voting	CSS	
Kathy Platt, Non-voting	Registrar	

Motion to approve: N. CannonierSecond: D. EbanksAye: 29Nay: 0

B. Executive Co Vice Chair	mmittee elections Andrea Moore	Aye: 28 votes Abstain: 0
Recording Secretary	Phillip Omunga	Aye: 29 votes Abstain: 0
Corresponding Secre	tary Patrick Morgan	Aye: 28 votes Abstain: 0
Logistics Officer		
K. Aites	12	
S. Butler-Lamar	18	
Parliamentarian		
Jordan Dominy	14	
Andrew Mudrinich	19	

- IX. Announcements
  - End of year reports from standing committees due April 30, if not submitted soon.
  - Final grades due May 11 by 5pm

X. Adjournment – 5:25pm Motion: Dominy Second: Morgan

Respectfully Submitted by Andrea L. Moore, Recording Secretary