Mission Statement

CLASS delivers innovative and effective programs in the humanities, social sciences and arts that supports the development of Savannah State University students who are respectful of the past, competent to handle the present, and prepared to meet the challenges of the future. The College serves as an educational resource for cultural enrichment and economic growth locally, nationally, and internationally.

In order to succeed in its mission, CLASS cultivates a participatory and technologically infused academic environment that supports effective teaching and learning for the global community, provides service to students, and provides opportunities for faculty development through research, creative activities, community development and community building. CLASS is organized into five departments (Liberal Arts, Mass Communications, Political Science, Public Administration, and Urban Studies, Social and Behavioral Sciences, and Social Work) with nine undergraduate majors: English, Visual and Performing Arts (Music, Art, Theatre and Dance), Mass Communications (Radio/Television, Public Relations and Advertising, Print and Electronic Journalism), Africana Studies, Criminal Justice, History, Political Science, Sociology, and Social Work. In addition, CLASS offers master's degree programs in Social Work, Public Administration, and Urban Studies. Minor concentrations are offered in English, Music, Art, Theatre, Dance, French, Spanish, Religion and Philosophy, Radio/Television/Film, Public Relations and Advertising, Print and Electronic Journalism, Africana Studies, Criminal Justice, Gerontology, History, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology. CLASS also offers courses in continuing education on the University campus and through the Coastal Georgia Center.